Australia Immigration: 16 November 2019 Changes

Australia Immigration: 16 November 2019 Changes

With the goal to improve Australia’s immigration rules and regulations, the Department of Home Affairs (DHA) is set to implement a new set of changes by 16th November 2019.

These changes aim to invite top quality migrants by an improved points system, particularly for the skilled migration programme. Also, changes open-up more opportunities for applicants who are willing to relocate to regional areas through the new regional provisional visas.

Below is the summary of what’s going to happen on the 16th November:

New Points System to be Implemented

Revisions to the General Skilled Migration points system will be implemented, ensuring that “exceptionally skilled” migrants are going to be prioritized. This revised points system will be applicable for visa Subclasses 189, 190, and the new 491 (previously 489).

  • 10 points for having a skilled spouse or de facto partner;
  • 15 points for applicants nominated by a State or Territory government or sponsored by a family member residing in regional Australia;
  • 10 points for having certain STEM qualifications;
  • 10 points for applicants who do not have a spouse or de facto partner; and
  • 5 points for applicants with a spouse or de facto partner who has competent English.

In the event points are equal amongst applicants, they will be ranked as below:

  • First – primary applicants with a skilled spouse or de facto partner
  • Equal First – primary applicants without a spouse or de facto partner
  • Second – Primary applicants with a spouse or de facto partner who can demonstrate competent English but does not have the skills for skilled partner points (age and skills)
  • Third – Primary applicants with a partner who is ineligible for either competent English or Skilled partner points. These applicants will be ranked below all other cohorts, if all other points claims are equal.

New Visa Subclasses Available

Australia is now making it happen; decongesting major cities and pushing people to regional areas such as Adelaide, Darwin, or the outskirts of Melbourne. Replacing subclass 489 and 187, Subclass 491 – Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) and Subclass 494 – Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (Provisional) are going to be implemented. Visa holders are required to live and work in the regional area only for at least three years within its 5 years validity, and must have a minimum annual income of $53,900 for three years, before they can roll over to a permanent residency visa in which will be named Subclass 191 – Permanent Residence (Skilled Regional).

November is coming, where are you in your plans of migrating to Australia? If you decide to do it after the 16th of November 2019, the competition will definitely be very stiff. Are you ready to take advantage of laws? If not, act now.

Know your migration eligibility by completing our online assessment form. Alternatively, contact us at +65 6299 0245 to book a professional appointment.